Is Your Smartphone Ruining Your Relationship?

TWO

There’s no denying the fact that smart phones have become a major part of everyday life.

Most people bring their phones everywhere with them: to class, work, grocery shopping, in the car, to bed, in the bathroom. Our phones have become an extension of ourselves.

phone

But can this attachment to our phones breakdown the attachment we have to our significant other?

The answer is: Absolutely.

Constantly being connected to your favorite device can create a sense of distance with your significant other. This is especially true if you use your phone when you should be spending one-on-one time with your person.

I have literally found myself in this position. Whenever there was a lull in the conversation, whenever I was bored for even just a second, I found myself reaching for my phone. How did I fix this?

Create boundaries:

phone2

No, you can do this! I promise! I swear! This is the easiest and quickest fix for any tech addiction.

I set strict limits for myself and my phone use.

If I’m engaged in any activity with my boyfriend I will not touch my phone until that activity has come to an end.

This includes anything from watching t.v., having dinner, to a simple conversation. At this point I’ve limited my phone use to whenever I’m alone. I do allow myself to send a text to friends here and there even if I am engaged in these activities. But I make sure that I don’t carry on a lengthy conversation.

You guys, it’s all about being present, and fully embracing the moment you’re in.

Check out this video from Elite Daily that perfectly illustrates the point I’m trying to make.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Is Your Smartphone Ruining Your Relationship?

Leave a Reply

